This indicates that the user already exists, or did exist but that all of the data for that user has not been deleted.
As the mysql root user:
REVOKE ALL PRIVILEGES, GRANT OPTION FROM ‘user’@’hostname’;
DROP USER ‘user’@’hostname’
Then re-try creating the user.